Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Cherished Mural

This is a detail from a twin mural in my neighborhood, on the side of a building I have lived and worked in. "The Heart of Baltimore Avenue" by David Gwynn (2008) features real local people, both living and dead, and street scenes within about one block of the mural itself.

The Byrd Theater was a movie house that stood in this lot from the 1920s until its demolition in the 1970s, giving way to a parking lot. Some time later an earlier and in some ways similar twin mural was put on the facing walls, describing the nearby porches with children flying in the air and a few real locals going about their business. This mural was needed when both the walls were repaired and the old one was obliterated.

This detail shows an activity that takes place on the other side of the wall. Donated books are sent to individual prisoners for free and money is raised to pay the postage. Not only was I a member volunteer for about twelve years, but I co-founded the anarchist community center where it meets and --the building seems like the center of my memory in more ways than I know.

I'm counting twelve or more people in the painting that I know, but in the middle (white blouse, sealing package) is Barbara, who we lost to cancer. At lower left, a memorial tree is planted for her (the real one grows a few yards to the right). The framed picture above her (my input) shows our city's best-known anarchist, Voltairine de Cleyre (1866-1912).

The other parts of the mural, on both sides, all bring out memories for me. I cannot overstate how dearly loved it is, by the whole neighborhood. It truly lives up to its title.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.