While on my runs

By waipushrink

Western Park 0618 am

I was spoiled for choice today. My morning run was over before the sun rose, and often that means a dearth of useful pictures, and a need to look for a blippable image later in the day. Today, I was busy with meetings and clinical work until it was time to accompany the clever and poetic S to the launch of her good friend and mentor's recent book "Lost Relatives". Home again after dark, to look at the morning's images.

The crescent moon and Venus were close in the morning sky, and I was able to get some interesting and amazingly sharp pictures of their conjunction. Amazing because of hand held and low light and slow shutter speed. Extremely tempting to choose one, although which one, because this will not be quite like this again, perhaps ever.

However, I chose this picture of one of the paths through Western Park, in the dark. Dark leavened by the occasional street lamp, and by my night vision after being in the park for a while. I chose it because it is where I run, not just what I see while on my run. Additionally, my sternest critic, S, described it (approvingly) as "eerie".

Also this is in part a celebration of a return. A year ago I walked up this particular path from the bottom of the hill right to where it exits the park. Now I actually run the first 50 m, and the last 100 m. This was taken from just where I start running again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.