secret garden

By freespiral

World Book Day

Well, we all arrived at school in our jimjams today ready for bedtime stories as part of World Book Day. The girls were awash in pink and fluffiness, and the boys were black and red stripiness. I wore a rather fetching pair of brushed cotton tartan bottoms, the Principal was in a black and white stripey combo, Carmel was in a superman set and Hannah's jimjams were borrowed from her son and had frogs on them. The children found it highly amusing. Actually very comfortable to work in.
Not the first time I've worn night attire to school either. I used to work in an equally eccentric school outside the very genteel Stratford upon Avon and we would dress up for any excuse! I have been a Victorian schoolmarm, a Second World War lady, a ferocious Celt and Just William - wellies, shorts and a tank top (okay Dotty, I agree they can be useful!)

Keeping in the book vein - this is a selection of my favourite books. Should I find myself on a desert island and be asked which book I would like, Shakespeare would do but I would prefer The Modern Antiquarian by Julian Cope. You might remember him from the Teardrop Explodes but he is the most magnificent writer and philosopher. This book is a gazeteer of some of the most important ancient sites in the UK. He took his own photos, drew his own maps and at each site he gives his thoughts. He has researched extremely well and gives a fresh eye . Bog Bodies and Samuel Pepys totally fascinating. Two photography books - the wonderful Andy Goldsworthy and Richard Long - his book is simple but stunning. He walked across England and did a photo a day and wrote a small comment as he went (remind you of anything!!).

Fiction - Beowulf has to be a mega fave, along with the Iliad which I've forgotten to include. Modern day stuff - two Irish writers Colm Toibin and William Trevor are both wonderful. And Wolf Hall - an incredible feat of writing, bringing to life the Tudor age and in particular making Thomas Cromwell a sympathetic character.

I love books!!! Currently reading the Granta Book of Irish Short Stories. Good reading everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.