Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Water spider

Pete, Alex and I all went to Orton Pit this morning. The sky continues to be dull grey and it was absolutely bitter on this exposed site, thanks to a stiff bone-chilling north-easterly wind. When we arrived we found out that we were going to be raking vegetation out of a set of experimental ponds, not the ideal task to do in such cold conditions!

There weren't quite enough rakes to go round, so I ended up with a pond net, which was to be used to check for great crested newts. I have to say vigorous use of a pond net on slippery clay for a couple of hours is an excellent work out! We did find one great crested newt, a splendid adult with a warty black back and a brilliantly patterened black and orange stomach. This species is about twice as big as a smooth newt - really impressive. Unfortunately I didn't have my camera, but I doubt if I would have got a very good photo anyway.

I found quite a lot of interesting creatures while pond netting, including a water scorpion, various dragonfly larve and a host of waterlice. But my favourite find of the day was a set of water spiders Argyroneta aquatica, one of which I brought home to photograph in the comfort of my kitchen. While doing this I've discovered I really need to create a proper set up for taking underwater photographs, particularly as Pete wants me to do some water beetles this summer. This image was the best I could manage with the available equipment, but it shows the spider in a very characteristic pose, hanging onto a stonewort stem

The spider's abdomen is a soft velvety grey when it's out of the water. When it submerges. the hairs on the abdoment trap air, which then appears as a silver bubble. The spider uses this air to breathe, and has to return to the surface to top up its 'aqualung' at regular intervals. Its the only truly aquatic spider in the UK and I think it's truly amazing. After having its portrait taken the spider was released in one of our garden ponds, where it should live happily.

Alternative images of the spider can be seen here and here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.