nameiwantstaken

By nameiwantstaken

Happy World Book Day!!!

Today is World book day and to celebrate I decided to talk about some Wildlife-related books I have read recently.

I'll start with the book in the picture- "The Peregrine, the Hill of Summer and Diaries" by J.A. Baker. As it says in the title, it follows a Peregrine, as well as the life Baker encounters around his village. I'm sure many of you have read this, and although I've only just started reading it, I think its a very beautiful book, though it is a bit like reading powerful poetry, its best taken in in small chunks! The writer is very descriptive!

The second book I love and have recently read is entitled "Shetland Diaries" and written by the legend Simon King. It is a companion book to the three part series about Shetland that was on recently. Simon is a great author- " It grew, shining, black and imposing, until at its base the great bulk of the bull orca broke the surface to exhale and snatch a breath..." The way he describes Shetland and his love for the Isle is beautiful, and I hope I become lucky enough to visit the place he fell in love with.

And finally, the third book I really enjoyed reading recently was "This birding Life" by Stephen Moss ( I think he produced Springwatch?). It has all his favorite articles he has written for The Guardian since 1993. He travels all around the World as well as exploring his Local Patch.

All of these are great books. I also like "David Attenboroughs First Life" book which is contains all the scripts he wrote for a Radio series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.