Lapiaz

By Sn2

Packed Away

Our stuff is now safe in Blenheim and we are so much luckier than many.

My backBlip started HERE.

I drove back down home tonight in time to have a lovely meal with some friends before work tomorrow. Busied myself in their kitchen washing dishes. I was glad to have a simple chore to occupy my time and a way to say thanks for the food.

On the drive I had listened to Jonny Cash husking "The Man Comes Around". Last week he came around for too many people in Christchurch. One hundred and sixty-three people so far, and rising. Not as bad as the earthquake in Haiti but bad enough.

I feel desperately tired and sad, looking forward to going home and seeing my friends again. They are all still alive - for which I am profoundly grateful.

Thoughts:
The guy who was controlling traffic at some roadworks just south of Blenheim. He saw me a few times on my travels. Bit of a rough character with a scraggly beard and some missing teeth. Told how he had gone to the Brooke Fraser concert up there the night before and stayed behind to collect all the empty plastic water bottles. He took them back to his place, washed them and filled them with clean water. Then he drove down to Christchurch and handed them out to people. Never judge a book by its cover.

My workmate M, who biked desperately all over the city, through flooding and raw sewage after the earthquake, trying to find her daughter. She is safe.

Our friends D & D who gave us a place to be.

My employer Kathmandu, who are giving us all the time we need to get back on our feet. Family first. Next door to my desk is a meeting room that has been converted into a creche so the children are right there.

Mike and Daan who drove down from Nelson at a moments notice. They drove through the early morning and night to get our stuff up to safety. Worked like demons one step ahead of a police cordon that threatened to shut us out. The best of friends are beyond all value in this life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.