Pal, mate, buddy

He's all three. He's been a star this past week and a half. He hasn't fallen apart. He hasn't complained about being left alone for hours on end. He hasn't complained about his mum being a grumpy, tired horror-bag.

In short, he's been pretty darned wonderful, as per usual.

Today is slightly better than yesterday. I have forced myself to take a back seat. To not get emotionally involved. I am still so tired, I can hardly function.

Got to be back on form for Monday, when school starts.

I even have some marking to do. That'll bring me back down to earth with a bump.

Some semblance of normality will resume come the new week, I'm sure.

For me, at least.

Not so for many others.

Thank you so much for all your kind words. I feel like a fraud. I have been so fortunate to escape (so far) the brunt of this awful tragedy. My thoughts and prayers go to those who haven't been so lucky.

Thank you also to Cousteau. My pal. My mate. My buddy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.