A chef's day...

By chef

Cheeky

This is a confit pig's cheek. The bread behind I made into breadcrumbs and then breaded the bits and deep fried them. It was lovely but I am doing something else with them now. Tomorrow they will go on the menu as Confit pig's cheek on a parsnip rosti with apple marmalade, grilled black pudding and a Madeira wine reduction. Served with a savoy cabbage ball.

I cooked the pig's cheek submerged in goose fat for 24 hours at a very low temperature. Then I removed all fat from it as there is a lot of fat in a pig's face. I took the dark part which is the muscle below your ear, and rolled it into the lighter part, which is the whole side of the face. I rolled it in clingfilm while it was still warm and let it set. When I cook it I will warm it up in some chicken stock. This is the most succulent piece of meat that has ever come out of my kitchen I think.

Let me know what you think of this please? Thank you..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.