BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Who's In Charge Today?

susanioslo asked if I would post a poem AND write about my day (as she suspects some of my poems are about my life but can't be sure)

But, for one day only, no poem but my day...

4.30 am - Alarm goes off. I think 'Fantastic! I'll leap out of my bed and drive 130 miles to a school in Wolstanton.'

5.40 - Set off

7.20 - See lots of road signs to Nottingham. Realise I am entering dangerous country.

7.30 - Wonder if I should call in and have breakfast with Lady La La and family. Realise this would probably mean I'd arrive at the school late and drunk. Not very good for business.

8.08 - Arrive at school.

8.14 - Dare to ask two interestingly dressed ladies if I can photograph them for today's blip.

8.20 - 9.10 Hang around staff room drinking tea and tuning up

9.15 - 9.45 Whizz through poems and play guitar and act silly for 300 children (all dressed as book characters) and grown-ups (also dressed as pirates, witches, Alice in Wonderland etc).

Talk talk read poetry eat school lunch fishcakes chips peas chocolate sponge and custard sell books read poetry play play workshop workshop see children in Reception, Years 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

3.05 pm - Set off home

5.28 - Arrive home.

5.50 - Check out blipland. Upload photos and write this.

6.10 - Post blip

6.20 - Gin or wine?

(If I'd have been at home it would have been spend hours on blip, write poetry, eat, drink tea, more blip, more writing - susanioslo, surely a poem a day is better than that? I rest my case).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.