Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The day after World Book Day

Didn't know about World Book Day! Learned it from blippers after I posted my blip yesterday. It was so much fun to see what people read, SO I could not resist my own pile of books today. The criterion: Anything laying around the house (reading currently in progress) but not shelved.(the shelves are full) I walked around picking up horizontal books from the bedroom,( stack on floor next to bed, and small side table) the dining room and the living room and here's what resulted. This is dangerous as now H will have more ammunition when he cries 'No more books!" (I did not include his side of the bed books)
As you can see there is still a certain amount of Egyptomania going on - couldn't get everything read before the trip and now we're constantly looking up everything to get the photos labeled correctly or just remember it straight! Florence Nightingales's Letters from Egypt is a small gem with great illustrations by David Roberts and others, recommended by Nancy Pearl (has 3 Book Lust books out with recommendations in catagories- maybe you have heard her show on NPR) as her best find for Egypt. The novel I just finished is A. S. Byatt's The Children's Book- I LOVE her books! Alan Bennett's Uncommon Reader is also a gem -to laugh out loud. Think I better stop before too many words. Oh there was one book of Fiona's. Only one not yet read at least part of,, next up, is Patti Smith. I couldn't possibly live without books! (no kindle tho) Next year I'll try to remember World Book Day!

FYI: For anyone interested I have finally posted some Egypt photos -it was so hard to choose. The flicker site has the 'top 100" and the other site has the 270 that I used for a dvd.

'top 100"
longer Egypt 270

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.