A Chillie Day

Do chillies count as vegetables?
This being vegetable challenge week, I thought they were the most colourful basket of goods on offer at the organic vegetable stall.

The carrots might have come second if they hadn't been covered in good, earthy glaur and the savoy cabbages third had I any affinity with them.

I've never recovered from having been told my a daughter's midwife that the leaves of the latter were good poultices for sore bosoms after breast feeding, and having to hunt one down out of season in July.
I have to say they are rather better looking on the stalk as nature intended rather than on a womanly chest.

The hour of sudden sunshine this afternoon saw His Lordship and I rearranging the tubs on the patio. What appeared pleasing from inside look a hotch potch when viewed from outside.

The land of Flowers is having a money off day this coming week and I have my beady eye on another tub and some colourful blooms to brighten the front back of the house. I'm really hoping that winter doesn't spring any nasty surprises on us at this stage.

I'm sure the resident magpies are thinking the same as they collect twigs to build a new nest. The one on the tree outside the window survived all that nature could throw at it this winter, but seems to have been dismantled recently and a new abode started on an adjacent tree.

Aren't birds clever? Could we build a nest with our mouths? I think not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.