The way I see it.

By christinePears

Galloping Along the Sand

It has been a lovely Saturday with enough sunshine in the morning to motivate me to wash the house windows and then the car! Neither has been done since well before Christmas so it was easy to make a difference. Then I still had enough energy for some digging in the garden. I moved into this cottage a year ago and the garden had never been touched - just a vast area of weeds and grasses stretching all the way down to the river. So I spent hours last spring and summer painstakingly digging over some ground nearest to the house and tried to remove every bit of ground elder, couch grass, docken, creeping buttercup and nettle - yes I had the lot! I planted mostly vegetables alongside lots of plants that I acquired and this year I have beautiful rich, friable soil but I have to introduce some kind of design and order into it. But this is a fun job compared to last year's task. No doubt there will be plenty blips of progress.

After all that work I went for a walk along Dunnet beach and spotted a horse and rider galloping away from me. I thought it would make a great shot so I got in my car and drove the 2 miles to the other end of the beach and was rewarded by it galloping towards me in the fading daylight. It has always been an ambition of mine to gallop along a beach in the setting sun but so far unfulfilled! Maybe one day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.