Life through a len! ;-)

By donnawhite

Off its rocker....

well not quite, but may as well be!
This is my rocking horse, I wanted a rocking horse for pretty much as long as I can remember though sadly never got one. That was until nearly 3 years ago when I spotted this on the back of a truck in a salvage fair. The dealer was a grumpy old sod and wouldn't take less than £100 for it, even given it's sorry state and the fact that it was my birthday.
Hubby thought I was mad for spending soo much on it, until I started sending e-mails to rocking horse restorers and they came back saying that it is actually a 'Sporty boy' made by Lines bros in the 1800's and when it is fully restored will be worth around £2000. Not that I'd ever sell it, mind.
The only minor problem is that it will cost around £1000 to get it restored....though I am determined that one day it will be restored to it's former glory and look like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.