Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Books

Firstly thanks for all the Get Well Soon wishes after yesterday's blip - The good news is I'm totally mended and although Mrs L wasn't up to going out today she's definitely on the mend too.

Had a nice photo of a tractor ploughing and being followed by a load of gulls lined up for you tonight, but kept coming across book blips so thought I'd hijack the World Book Night theme to bring you some of my books.

Organised in order of size we have:

Southern Sandstone - I climb and this is the guide book to my local area - quite probably the worst rock anywhere in the UK, and not used as much these days as it used to be.
Trans-Siberian Handbook - One of many travel guidebooks I own, unfortunately though not the one I owned when we did the Trans-Sib, that was the far inferior Lonely Planet version, this was bought on our return for a future trip.
The Birds of Britain and Europe - Our first ever bird book.
Billy Liar / The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Runner - An old school book and probably my awakening to good literature.
The Time Travellers Wife - A Sci-Fi Love Story - ticked all the boxes for me - blokes don't cry - they do if they're incurable romantics - hey ho.
A Thousand Years of Good Prayers - With Youngshanks interest in China, we've explored quite a few Chinese writers - this collection of short stories gives a great insight into Chinese culture.
Northern Lights - His Dark Materials Trilogy - A fantasy in an alternate universe - easy reading and totally engrossing.
Tell No One - Saw the film (Ne le dis à personne) before realising we had the book. The film was gripping, the book is just a superb thriller.
The Munros - The source of many excellent days out in the Scottish Hills and as the children were growing up and I was ticking off the Munros the reason for the location of many of our summer holidays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.