TeeJay

By TeeJay

Cardboard Cup Classic

Buller Fest is on this weekend - an event where a lot of enthusiasts flock into the village for a weekend of kayak and raft mayhem on the Buller River. I missed yesterdays "serious" events because I was in Nelson, but I had promised a group of my highschool students that I'd go and watch their attempt in the inaugural Cardboard Cup. They had to build a totally cardboard boat, lauch it at the 'Gravel Pit' and paddle it down to the 'Eel Hole'.

Front to back, Stacey, Todd and Zac put in an impressive effort. They were the second intact boat in, and the youngest competitors. I beleive there had to be at least 2 people in each boat - and the lads added weight by having three of them. I really don't know whether that was an advantage or disadvantage, but regardless, they did great and have every right to be very proud of themselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.