Water of Leith Conservation Society Trust 2001

Over the last couple of weekends I have become interested in tracking down the Nicola Moss River Rubbings.
The Brown trout, St Mungo's Well, Otters Return, Place of Bridges
These can be found between Balerno and Slateford, though 'Mills' is missing, as is 'River fly river fish river bird river fly'
'Tickets',
'Natural Powers'
Whale Oil Gas
'1948 Flood'.
From Hill to Sea. Can be found between Murrayfield and Leith Docks.


These bronze plaques are set into walls and balustrades and pathways all along the twelve mile Water of Leith Walkway. The original challenge was to buy a little ring bound book and walk the length of the river taking rubbings of each plaque. Hand in the completed book to the Water of Leith Visitor's Centre and they would stamp your book and give you a specially struck commemorative coin.

They don't sell the books any more. Two of the plaques have been stolen and now they just give the books away.

I went in with an incomplete book and told the lady about missing plaques, but she knew all about it and told me that they went missing within the first year. She gave me one of the coins anyway.

So here it is. I feel that I have earned it, and that it is a real shame that I can never complete my little book.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.