The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Treecreeper

Leighton Moss, Lancashire

I went to Leighton Moss early this morning in the hope of seeing a marsh harrier. I wasn't lucky in that respect, but consolation was seeing a pair of treecreepers that were searching for insects in the bark of alder trees, their high pitched contact calls allowing me to follow them as they moved from tree to tree. It was a long time before I was close enough for this shot.

Treecreepers start close to the base of the trunks of trees and work their way upwards, revolving round the trunk as they go. Then they fly to the next tree.

It's been a glorious day today, quite unlike the weather forecast prediced this morning. I saw my first bumblebee of the year buzz through the garden as I was weeding the new veggie beds.

The bird list moved on to 96 with bearded tits at the Moss.

Last night we saw the King's Speech in the Royalty in Bowness. And what a wonderful, uplifting fim it is too. For a movie that moves slowly it is utterly absorbing. It's wonderfully filmed too with great attention to period detail.

In a rush again tonight, but will catch up with comments later. I'm a bit behind from yesterday, so apologies for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.