While on my runs

By waipushrink

Underneath ...

The beach house.

Went up to Snells Beach today, partly to visit Great Grandma (my mother in law) and partly to check on builder's progress. Three weeks ago I posted a picture taken after the first day of lifting the house. After that it was lifted a further metre at least.

Then the new piles were sunk, and they are so much bigger and go so much deeper than did the old ones. Then they used the digger (which had already dug the holes for the piles) to dig out the area for the lower level which will have a Yoga room for S, and a study/cum library for me and S (officially a store room).

Today there were three block layers at work (one is hidden behind one of the stacks holding up the house), and a carpenter bringing the piles down to the proper height. He is using a thingummy using laser to check how level it is. (Showing my great knowledge of construction arts here).

The concrete mixer is in the Yoga room, and the blue barrel in the library. The house has to be moved back as well as down in order to sit on the near piles and the block wall.

Very exciting. Much better than any run photo today. Further updates will follow, I am sure.

Additional note a few hours after posting: S has pointed out that I neglected to say that this is an entry in this weeks challenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.