Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Umbrella Ninja.

As a lone-traveller, I spent maybe one day too many in Santiago Compostela. I found myself walking around in circles quite a lot and involuntarily retracing my steps. I got to know the place quite well.

Anyway, as I was trying to decide whether I wanted to cross the road and go to the park again, or not, a gentleman stepped in front of me. I took note of an umbrella growing on the back of his neck. I thought it was very strange. I've never seen someone put their rain repeller there before. I wondered why? Was it for easy access during a sudden down pour (it does rain a lot in Santiago)? But surely then it would be easier to hold it by the handle. Was his collar too tight? Did he think it was funky? Maybe he was a walking piece of art. I came to the conclusion that he was probably stood in the entrance of a restaurant somewhere when someone mistook him for an umbrella stand. They slipped their umbrella onto the hook and walked off in the opposite direction to the holder, who also walked off. It made me start to wonder if the hat was his too? Or had someone mistaken him for a hat-rack?

I left the Umbrella Ninja behind to meet up with some friends from uni, who showed me some of Santiago by night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.