Cracked

Yes, indeed it is. This is the bottom of Ramahana Ave, Huntsbury. I used to live up this road. I've been driving past it for the past few days and noticed it was closed, today I thought I'd have a look.

Camera in hand I started up, and was soon "apprehended" by the contractor. "Are you a geotech guy?". "Ah no, I live up the hill" (I forgot to say a few years ago). "Ah, right, come and see this."

He takes me to a crack and shines his torch down. Can't see the bottom. It's bad, think a crevasse, in the dirt. He then takes me (to the edge) of their excavation. "Check that pipe mate, it's buggered. And see that water, coming out of the sewer ...", It's very bad. It's a clay pipe that is well and truly, well, sh*tted. One the water gets on (their priority) and people start flushing, it won't be pretty. So I thank the bloke from Wellington who came down to help us. A lot.

And then work, and all day preparing for a presentation/discussion/strategy day with a client.

Finishing with a beer after work and discussing the new office with our designer. And yes, the kids went back to school today, they didn't want to.

What a weird mix! We're basically living in a disaster zone (there are way way worse situations that this all over the city), although personally we're not that affected. It feels rather odd ... One part of me wants to help, but the other says I need to run the business and we have a lot of work on. So we're focussing on the business and staff. And I think that's OK, it's part of the solution.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.