But I'm not rising a fist nor a word

It was the lunch break and after eating I went towards the toilets. I entered the busy toilet room full of noisy middle schoolers, took two and a half steps and then, *SLAM*. The pieces that had been my eyeglasses just a few seconds ago pattered on the floor. I yelled holding my head which had started to bleed from alongside my right eyebrow. The slammer disappeared with ultimately stupid laughter left by her.

Well, there's a narrow passage where the girls' toilets lie in the school. Somebody suddenly opened one of the toilet doors with too much power and disregard, and by the happenstance, I was in the danger zone. I didn't realize what was going on until it happened. She didn't even apologize but ran away. I got a cut that hurts, plus the pieces that once were eyeglasses.

I'm not happy with this, not at all. My voice came back, but now I can't see well. Not far, but not so close, though. I went to the optician to ask if there could be something to do to save my glasses, but she sighed while noting there's nothing left to do with them; the frames are totally broken. She also added that there are no glasses that would survive with me in my mysterious life. I hope that was just irony, but this was the third time when I entered her shop with pieces of my glasses only.

Happily the lenses didn't crack. There's a chance that the optician can find alike frames somewhere, but if not, I need to buy whole new glasses and I don't like that at all, because my glasses need special lenses and they're damn expensive. My latest glasses cost about 600 Euros and that's bloody much.

However, there's also that little light in the horizon. The school does refund at least 3/4 of the price of my glasses, so I'm such relieved. Tomorrow I'll get to know if I have to buy new glasses or if I can get just new frames for the lenses. Before that, I need to use my old glasses which are dumb and not so effective, so it doesn't matter if I'm using them or not.

Still, I'm very disappointed with that regardless scoundrel who even dared to laugh after her carelessness. I wasn't very angry but very, very disappointed, I must say. I didn't wan't to swear, curse or rage. I just hope she has a great discussion with her teacher or someone else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.