The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Kestrel - Newport Wetlands

Back to Newport Wetlands today. Not been there for ages!

Met up with Dave of Just A Thought fame.

It was a glorious day, a bit chilly but not too biting.

Walking out from the visitor centre, we came across a Kestrel perched up on a wire. Now considering back on 17th January I said I managed to get a cracking Kestrel picture, one of my year aims, I seem to have got a dab hand at taking them. It was a toss up between today's entry and this rejected blip taken of the Kestrel On A Wire. I chose the one of the reed pile in the end, as it was in a more natural setting. We had done our long walk around the reserve, and the Kestrel was still sat where we left her. As we walked down, she swooped down on some poor unsuspecting mammal. We watched her consume her prey behind the reed pile, before climbing back to the top, it was a photo opportunity not to be missed. Simply brilliant!

There was a first for me at Newport. Saw a pair of Shovellers. There were also plenty of one of my favourite birds there, Little Grebes, such dainty little birds. In fact, me and Dave sat and watched them eating some pancakes I had brought with me!

I misblippeyesterday, on second thoughts this Starling was a far better photograph!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.