thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

Long live libraries

I saw this book in Waterstone's and ordered it on-line from the library, at the same time ordering another book. A couple of days later I had a phone call to say they were both in, so I collected them and at the same time found another 8 books I wanted to look at. I scanned all 10 at the self-service check out and proudly bore them home. The entire library service is free (aprt from the occasional fine) and in Dorset we can have up to 12 books out a time.

The smaller libraries and mobile services are under threat. I'm impressed with the way our library service has put the new technology to good use. The self-service check-out and return is really easy. I do hope they can carry on providing the excellent service they give, including in the rural areas.

This book has given me good background gen I need on barns in Dorset. It was only written a couple of years ago so all the inofrmation and pictures are up to date. The picture on the front of Abbotsbury tithe barn is the shot I was hoping to get on Sunday; unfortunately the lake with the swan now only contains JCBs.

The kitchen has the best light in the house, hence the book is placed among the papers for recycling and the pea and bean seeds to be planted.

Thanks to everyone for their appreciative comments on yesterday's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.