Starry Eyed Surprise

By bellerock

Paws for thought

It's been another busy week. It feels like a lot of events have occurred in a very short space in time.

On a personal level, a breakthrough to strengthen a friendship, a confession to start the healing process and tentative steps towards a new relationship.

On a world wide scale, the shock and horror of the quake and Tsunami in Japan. The eyewitness accounts and pictures are very distressing and I feel dazed by the news.

I'm still ruminating on the deaths and repatriation of Lance Corporal Liam Tasker and his Springer Spaniel Theo who helped him save dozens of lives.
The very moving television coverage of the heroes' welcome this week was especially poignant.

I can relate to how strong the bond between dog and master is having had a very special bond with my dog Barney who helped me through some very dark times.

Coincidentally, Claire wrote a poem at the beginning of this week which really moved me and inspired me for today's blip.

Remembering.
Frolicking in the fields.
Waiting.
Barking with excitement.
Chasing rabbits. Wanting.

I'm his.
He's mine.
The day, a celebration
He returns.

She looks after me.
I do not love her.
Don't need her either
I don't want her!

The hours to wait, cruel.
Heart as fast as an aeroplane.
Tail going like a bullet.
Mouth drooling like a waterfall.

Mailman brings a telegram
.... a telegram?
She reads it, she cries,
"Brownie, he is gone."

This was a war poem she wrote from a dog's point of view, thinking about his master.

The picture is of Radar's paws, she's fast asleep on the sofa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.