Opawa C...

The remains of my local cycle shop. The sign used to say Opawa Cycles.

Andrew rescued his clients bikes including mine (which had part of a collapsed wall on it).

My bike looks ok a little dusty but it's back on duty for me tomorrow.

Jude and I dropped a leg of wild pork off for Andrew the bike man today, curtsey of The Hunter. Andrew hopes to be up and running from his home garage just down the road once his tools are replaced.

We saw a little of my local neighbourhood and further afield in our travels today. It's hard to describe how I felt as I saw at times breath taking damage to roads, bridges, homes and businesses. But I also encountered people with huge smiles and water containers they were filling from a nearby artesan well. People creating community and dealing with their reality with tenacity and a positive attitude.

Jude has gone home now and I'm flying solo now. We achieved so much. I'm incredibly grateful to her and for the love and support I have from my family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.