[blowfish]

By blowfish

sunday

Even though we, for all intents and purposes, are raging heathens, we indeed adhered to today as being day of rest. A perfectly valid conclusion to the three-day weekend; even though we are about to go have dinner with friends, it will be pretty impossible to top our Sunday afternoon.

We drank a bottle of pinot noir at the park, played frisbee, laid on a big yellow blanket with pictures of bees on it, and listened to 80's music on this, my old-timey, uni-speakered bike stereo; then we came home, got naked, showered off the stink, and are now getting dressed for dinner this evening in our finery (whatever that means). Oh, and we are bringing eight pounds of potatoes.

Tomorrow is Monday and I have a meeting with a guy at the homeless shelter where I am going to begin volunteering teaching writing to folks in the shelter's GED program. The majority of the residents at the shelter are HIV/AIDS positive--I am extremely excited about getting started with them, guiding them in their writing (they don't need to be taught, it would be arrogant to claim that I would be their teacher, perhaps just their mentor, their guide). But I already went in for an initial tour and got to meet some of these amazing residents. Suffice to say, I am overwhelmed with enthusiasm. Monday also means back to the grind of applying for the PhD program (read: study my ass off for the GRE). I mention all of this because despite our reprieve from the realities that surround Leah and I as a couple, and as grateful members in an increasingly, and sometimes overwhelmingly, saddening society, this weekend has been one of the best in our time together.

Until then, my friends.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.