RunningBackwards

By Runningbackwards

Street Art

This is a bit of street art that appears on the wall at the end of the local Skate Park.

A bit of inside knowledge from my students tells me that, periodically, the wall is white washed and a new bit of street art is painted on it.

Quite how the process works and how they choose who is next is a mystery. The work is respected and never sprayed over. Other parts of the skate park are covered in tags, which I've never quite managed to appreciate.

All the boys from school have scooters these days. When I was young (what a phrase!) skateboards were where it was at. Can you look cool on a scooter?

Either which way, they are doing something good and their skills are phenomenal.

I have to walk home, passing this spot, and often get a few shouts of, 'Oi! Sir' which, given the possible alternatives, I don't mind. They probably shout those just as I'm out of earshot!

When I was a teenager my neighbour allowed his two sons to build a massive half-pipe in the garden. It was quite possibly the biggest in Mid Wales! Weather soon destroyed it but the sight of them airborne over the hedge kept us amused for at least one summer.

Right, on with some work. The day begins..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.