Pieces of a Jigsaw Puzzle

By szahra

Sumbal Flowers

At the start of Spring in February and March, Lahore see's red flowers on Sumbal tree's. These flowers are fiery red and absolutely gorgeous. After sometime the flowers shed away and the seed dries up and something similar to cotton balls start shedding from these trees. In olden days, people used to collect this cotton/fur like material, clean it, remove the seeds and fill their pillows with them. Unfortunately, I am unable to find its botanical and English name online, so this will have to do.

When I was transferring images, I realized that I took this image standing underneath the tree, so I automatically did the "underneath" challenge too :) I will be blipping these flowers again as they are simply gorgeous.

P.S. Its called Bombax Ceiba

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.