an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Toddler Bandstand

Today was a varied afternoon with Toddler. To be honest this was mainly my fault as shortly before picking her up I realised that I had completley forgotten to take the car to the garage this morning to get the window fixed and so was quite annoyed with myself.

As usual we went to the shop by her nursery to get me a cheese roll but she did not want to go in the buggy today, today she wanted to be carried. This meant I could not eat and so this started the first falling out of the day. Thankfully a bribe of pretty much all the cheese from my roll got her to go in the buggy for five minutes so I could eat my now just tomato roll.

She decided she wanted to go shopping today, so we headed for Southsea centre. Once I had finished my roll I asked if she now wanted to walk, she didn't. After a couple of shops she wanted to walk again but this only lasted a little while before she wanted to be carried again. The problem with carrying Toddler is that not only do I have back problems but she is always getting heavier. Thats the thing with children, always growing. Anyway this theme of changable movements continued for the entire afternoon which also caused the odd debate. There was a brief lull in the movements when Toddler decided she was to sit and read in the charity shop for a bit, but this was only a small break in the proceedings.

After quite unfruitful shopping we had some tea and cake in the sunshine before wandering along to the bandstand, for a run around, and then along the beach to find ice cream which we ate in the rose garden. Toddler was most pleased with polishing off the flake and the last of the cone before I could get to it. I later found out she learnt this from Wife at the weekend. After a bit of troll play on the little bridge we headed for home. On the way home we saw a random dog charging around in the road. We tried to head it off but it stopped and then legged it the other way and shot off down the next road. A load of other people must have seen it but did nothing. When we got round the corner it was gone. Toddler decided it must have gone home.

A couple of minutes later a worried man, with a lead stuffed in his coat, asked if we had seen a dog. We gave him the directions of the route it took and he said that hopefully it had gone home. As the man went on his way his phone rang, he answered it and then turned and said yes its at home now. Toddler then turned to me and said, "The man said the dog has gone home Daddy"
"Yes" I said "I told you the dog had gone home Daddy" she replied and she was right.

Quite how the dog then managed to pick up the phone and tell its owner this though we will never know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.