Triple Time

Public transport eh?

I'm sure there's a system for doing this every day, but it took absolutely forever to do the usual commute to work today. And whoever came up with the phrase 'let the train take the strain' was talking out their arse.

Actually, I'm probably being unfair. After dropping off the poorly car at the garage, by way of a traffic-light dodging detour, and being told there's a £68 per hour labour charge just to diagnose the problem I went off in a bit of a shell-shocked daze with Samantha to the train station, only to find that road closed due to roadworks. By this time Samantha had 20 minutes to get back for an appointment at the doctor's surgery for Euan (still poorly, tonsillitis, freaky hallucinations with his high temperatures - "what's all the pink stuff, take all the pink stuff away..." whilst apparently wide awake last night) so was dropped off a chilly five minute walk form the station. I then tried to use a 22nd January ticket to access the platform and spilt half my coffee as I shoved against the unmoving barrier. Didn't realise this until the cheery chappy from British Rail pointed this out; they all look the same to me these tickets, they should have different colours for different days. The twenty minutes on the train felt longer and on arriving at the other end I couldn't work out which of the five taxis lined up unhelpfully as if they were on a starting grid instead of the more traditional rank was the one I should go for. So i plumped for the nearest one. Turns out it was the second one along, so closed the door and shuffled round to that.

Anyway, arrived at work an hour late and £7 lighter. So hoping the car's not off the road for too long as I don't think I'm up to that every day.

As it is, we're all going (me, some 70+ students and other staff) in a big double decker bus, just like Cliff Richard, to see some art in Edinburgh tomorrow. Going to sit myself down in front of some classic photos and meditate my nads off (medical term) until I'm stress free.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.