Way of Life

By wayoflife

Dolls

I went to work for the first time since the earthquake today. It takes me three trains to get to work. The first train line was only running 40% of its trains so each train was full to bursting. I had to wait for three trains to come and go before I could get on. The second train was quiet but there was still a fair few people, but the last train, which is an underground, was a little creepier. The train station I use is in a blackout zone so there was only a few lights on. The station was empty except for a few people scuttling here and there. Usually this station is full so it is odd to see it so quiet.

I was surprised to see that everyone turned up at my office. It was, again, just like nothing had happened, except for one guy running around in his make-shift anti-radiation kit that involved a surgical mask, a giant pair of glasses, and a baseball hat. Imagine those crap police photo-fits and you've got a pretty good idea of what he looked like.

We are watching the status of the power stations and wondering whether we should leave Tokyo. There isn't a lot of clear-cut information out there. I wish my company would just close so that it would be one less thing to worry about.

On a more comical note, on my way home I went to the convenience store and they were playing the Superman and Indiana Jones theme tunes. Another surreal moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.