nameiwantstaken

By nameiwantstaken

Day 4 of my bird a day challenge- TWO BUZZARDS

The weather picked up today, though there still was a large amount of cloud. I went back to the Lapwing field, and got some great views. As well as Lapwings, I saw Dunnocks, a Heron, Mallards, Moorhens, Pheasants, Crows and Jackdaws. I also saw a Magpie carrying nesting material.

Best of all however, was seeing two buzzards, or cat birds; an old name for this majestic raptor, which derives from the birds call, a mewing noise, sounding like a cat...

I've never seen Buzzards in that area, so it was a really great find. Its excellent news that Buzzards populations are expanding, showing that we can live beside one another in the era of mighty technology. However, not all Birds of prey are doing as well as the Buzzard, which is fast becoming Britain's commonest Bird of prey, replacing the Kestrel. We cannot lose the Windhover....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.