Dog Fix

You'd think that having been born into a puppy mill and being forced to have many litters for the same puppy mill by the time you are three years old would turn a dog mean and distrusting of humans. Wrong. Well then surely being kept in a filthy cage that's too small to move around in, with no attention and interaction, let alone love, would do it. Wrong again.

Hats off to the people who rescue and adopt animals and especially pugs because not everyone can handle how they look and sound. My wish for the people who operate the puppy mills is that...that...I can't say it here. For the breeders who thought it would be a good idea to 'design' a dog who has to fight for every breath and whose eyelids can't even fully close; not a wish, just a question. What the hell were you thinking?

Day one of the once weekly Carmen McSnorty daycare went swimmingly. She re-won Mr. M over in less than two seconds with a spirited display of snorty rolling around while wrestling with the fleecy blanket I will now call hers. I have to get used to having a low slung mini-tank following me around constantly. If it weren't for the fact that she breathes so loudly, I might have stepped on her paws a dozen times today.

To get her to adopt this tilted-head-you-have-my-full-attention pose, all you have to say is: Carmen would you like me to get you a... you don't even have to say what. It works every time.

Yep, I'll hang that sign out now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.