Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

The Siege of Bastogne

Well .... about yesterday. Ummm. It appears I was distinguished by my non appearance yesterday. I had set my imagination at liberty to explore new ground. Unfortunately it soared rather close to the event horizon of this passing black hole, you see ... and was sucked completely in. As a result my compulsion to express myself amounted to nought, zero, ixne and amounts of similar value - all day.

Does that make me capitulate? Am I about to give up? Will I raise the white flag and retire in disorder? Not a bit of it. During the Battle of the Bulge, the 101st airborn division was surrounded by German troops and the enemy demanded that the American GIs surrender. General McAuliffe, 101st commander (who was also a keen Blipper, as I understand it) sent back a succinct one word reply (and this is a true story folks). His defiant retort was "NUTS!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.