While on my runs

By waipushrink

Cloudy Melbourne Sunrise

Although I say Melbourne, I should have said Melbourne Airport. Yesterday, I left Auckland on an evening flight, and even gaining 2 hours arrived after sunset, and then checked into an airport hotel, where today's meeting was held. Useful meeting which ended in time to come across to the terminal and check in. Now sitting waiting for boarding. and will get home at midnight. Apart from my run I haven't even been outside since getting here!

No trouble waking predawn this morning as still on NZ time. While on my run I was hoping to get a picture of a nice sunrise, as have seen some good ones on previous visits. However, dense grey cloud was everywhere. My attempts to find something else for my blip were severally unsuccessful.

However, when nearly back to the hotel, I noticed the view seen in this image. A band of molten gold behind the trees, between the cloud bank and the horizon.

I guess its very appropriate as this whole trip (as expected) has been ordinary, in the sense of this is what I do (in a small part of my life). And at the same time it has its own beauty, just as the meeting had its usefulness.

I feel particularly sorry that I could not find a "better" shot, as hippo74 was looking forward to me posting a lovely shot of Melbourne where she has friends. My excuse is that I didn't actually even see Melbourne, although (depending on the wind direction) I may see it on the way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.