Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Perigee Moon (tomorrow!)

This is a great example of not really thinking through a photograph.

To start with, taking pictures of the moon with a compact and no tripod is always something of a challenge, but today tomorrow [thankyou @heyes for pointing out that despite this entry saying Friday 18th I was quite convinced it was the 19th :)] is the day of the Perigee Moon, when it is at its closest to Earth, and looks largest in the sky, so I thought I would make the attempt.

The first thing I did wrong was to forget to use my 14 megapixel setting, so this was done on 10, meaning the extra 'zoom' I get from cropping wasn't what it could have been.

The second was to forget to check the time of the full moon - although this was only [one day and] five minutes out, so pretty close.

The biggest mistake though, was forgetting that the whole point of it being the biggest moon, was its size in relation to features on the ground. What you have here could have been any old full moon, what I should have done is brought it into a landscape of some sort.

Still, I've done it now, and I know it was will be the Perigee Moon tomorrow.

perigee moon ~ puffed up ~ with pride ~ say ~ cheese

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.