Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Supermoon

Although there was a frosty start, the sun soon raised the temperature to a pleasant 13C and it turned into a perfect early spring day. After a riverside dog walk, with more chiff-chaffs calling and golden celandines lighting up the riverside grassland, I spent the afternoon in the garden. I actually feel I'm making progress at last - the vegetable plots are nearly dug, the rhubarb planted and the lawnhas been mown for the first time - I just love the smell of that freshly mown grass!

Like many other blippers I was aware that tonight the full moon was going to be at its largest for nineteen years (a super perigee moon) so I persuaded Pete and Ben to come out with me to watch it rise (Alex had gone to Sheffield to see Chris). I'd seen the moon hanging low in the sky yesterday afternoon, pale as a ghost, but this evening it rose at just before half-past six, and started off a soft blood-red and appeared distinctly flattened. As it rose higher in the sky, the colour became deeper before turning to a rich orange. By the time we drove home it was like a giant pale gold lantern.

The picture that I've posted was one of the first I took, when the sky was still quite bright. The view was taken across the Nene valley and you can just see the glint of the river inbetween the trees. In some ways I wish I'd gone out east to the fens to photograph it, but this was closer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.