Living In The Valley

By CatbirdCottage

The Robin and The Full Moon of March

Yesterday I had blipped a pre-super moon. One of the comments reminded us that the full moon of March is also called the worm moon. I had a feeling it had something to do with our American Robins. According to the Farmers Almanac, as the temperatures rise and the earth begins to thaw earthworm casts appear marking the arrival of robins. So the full moon of March is called the worm moon. The earthworms are high in the diet of the American Robin.

I wanted to see if I could find a robin locating an earthworm today, this one did and she turned her back to me when she pulled it out of the ground and gobbled it down....So this is her after her dinner. I am about 100% sure this is a female. Do you know they can raise 3 broods in a season.. (I've even heard of 4, but they are certainly pushing colder weather when that happens)

News on the birdhouses, the tree swallows are back and already checking one out. I later saw a chickadee looking into the same house. Hopefully there will not be a squabble over who's going to live there :)

Thanks to goodman for reminding me yesterday of the worm moon.

ps.. the first daffodils bloomed today.. hooray :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.