Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Tribute to Bill

My Dad would have been 108 today. He made it to 82. Thinking about him today, I was looking for something to represent him here at the island. He was a great woodworker so I thought I'd use this crib as something he made. It was mine (obviously- I am Karen) and my 2 sons used it. But when it came time for the grandchildren, it just "wouldn't do". If you look closely, the extra pieces on the top of the head and foot, put there by hubby, Grampa H (who is NOT a great woodworker!) supposedly will keep a child from "hanging" himself on the corner 1" posts. Whatever. :-) Each of 4 grandchildren have slept here successfully, but not that often, in what is now the Island Crib.

Bill's first 3 names are Wilburn Helge Sven - he was born in Chicago but returned to Sweden shortly after where his brothers and sister were born before returning to Brooklyn NY when he was 12. None of our parents lived long enough to see our little island paradise, but Bill is the only one of the 4 who would have absolutely LOVED it. Boats, fishing, solitude, (fancy) camping were all his cup of tea, and we surely could have used his expertise with hammer and nails, and axe. He drank too much and smoked too much but was a very fun Dad and although I don't always think about him on his birthday, I usually do when I'm here on the island. Happy Birthday, Dad!

My friend M and hubby T left today but she posted this good shot of the island first. You can see it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.