While on my runs

By waipushrink

A sun-kissed moon

Having readjusted body clocks quite nicely, I was up in time to be on the road with the aim of reaching the top of Maungawhau before sunrise. To do so was doubly important; ensuring best photo opportunities, and an early departure for the family outing for Mr H's non birthday.

Before starting out I looked out to see what the full moon looked like. It was really clear and bright, and (because it is apparently rather closer than usual) bigger. Took a few shots with the telephoto lens, only to discover on looking at them that there was a haze picked up by the camera which I wasn't aware of. All shots had the moon with substantial flaring.

Off I went. Climbing the access road to the top of Maungawhau I kept an eye on the moon, and not far short of the summit, the above image showed itself to me. I could see the band of cloud which was about to obscure the moon, and realised that this was my last chance. I can see evidence of the surface of the moon, not as clearly as in real life, and I guess that shows again the existence of some haze. (The scattered spots of light in the foreground are street lights, more obviously so in an earlier shot without the framing trees.)

At the top I paused to watch the sunrise. So much cloud, that the sun itself was not visible although the effects on the cloud bands was dramatic. I got one picture in particular which vied with this one. One of the jumbo jets from the US/Canada west coast was visible amongst great colours. I have posted a number of sunrises and this is the first moon set.

Later in the morning we gathered at Crystal Mountain, a "theme setting" with animals as well as a museum with loads and loads of crystals. A wonderful time had by boys, parents and all four grandparents.

Then back home and on to the next major pile of agenda papers. Having a break so I can post this. Right now the Libyan crisis is featuring on the news in the next room, so will stop and go watch. It is a duty to be informed, I believe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.