The way I see it.

By christinePears

The Guillemots are back!

Great day for a cliff top walk and I went up to Duncansby head in the afternoon to enjoy the great outdoors. There was sunshine and most surprising of all it was warm! When I had left home tit was very chilly but as I stood on top of the headland there was warm air blowing from the west. When I got to my favourite cliff top perch there were great clouds of flies, that had obviously just hatched, being blown along on the breeze.

To my delight there were lots of guillemot standing on the cliff ledges - they were not there the last time I visited. The fulmars which had been all paired up on the ledges 4 weeks ago were nowhere to be seen. Were they all out feeding at sea?

With the big moon and the big spring tides the sea was whizzing along below me like a very fast river causing great standing waves in places. It was warm on the cliff edge and it was lovely to linger and watch the comings and goings of all the birds. Very peaceful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.