[blowfish]

By blowfish

riverride

Went on a momentum-halting fixie roll into the wide gusts today with Nate and Chris. Shot this at the halfway mark when Chris's crank and chain-ring fell completely off on account of a missing bolt--good thing he has a new gold one (to match these sick rims) coming from All-City next week.

That is Nate in the stylish wool jersey (I need to get one of these someday) implementing the technological wonders of the iPhone to locate a bike shop or hardware store, sadly to no avail. In the end, Chris got picked up by a friend and Nate and I rode back, into the wind again somehow (my sense of cardinal direction is bunk, at best). I think I mis-tracked the route a bit on the above link but it was indeed somewhere between 27 and 30 miles, I'd say, but the wind (I can't stress this enough) really drew it out into something longer.

But I don't mean to imply an air (yuk yuk) of complaint here, I needed the workout quite badly after hitting the Gingerman last night for clouds of secondhand cigar smoke and pints of Murphy's Stout with Leah, Chris, med school buddy Eric, and his painter girlfriend Sofia. Just slow, rough going at times but totally worth it as riding bicycles with good friends always ends up being.

On another, final note, last night was one of the worst nights of sleep I have had in quite some time. Between that and the ride today I am opting out of the beery, socially Sunday Night Ride tonight with the Night Riders. If it's not the steamy temperature in our bedroom, its the breath-grasping fright of night terrors. Tossed and turned and kicked and thrashed. Maybe today's ride will help ease me into a smoother physical and mental sleepy state tonight.

Oh, and the Trinity River smells like ass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.