Skyroad

By Skyroad

Spring Tide, Irishtown

I'm working on a little subsidiary project at the moment (a subset of the larger Dublin Docklands project), about a traveler family I visited a few times on a site near the South Wall. Out here, the nearby city can seem strangely distant. Sand drifts across the road and pools along the edges like the dregs of a dessicated ocean. Looking south, across the great scoop of Sandymount Strand and Dublin Bay, you can see the towns of Blackrock and Dún Laoghaire and beyond them the low-lying Dublin and Wicklow mountains. The place has a wildness and beauty, and also a sense of desolation, abandonment; there are often burned-out cars in the carpark at the end of the beach. Yet it is also a favourite spot for walkers, bird-watchers, kite-surfers, etc. The family have long ago moved on, but I went out to take some more shots of the surrounding area, and for the first time in my life I took a stroll along the Irishtown Nature Park trail, which increased that sense of being in another world, or rather between worlds. Below me on the beach, I watched a big crow drop something (presumably a small shellfish) from from its beak onto a rock, then fly down to pick it up and repeat the process. Further out I saw this figure (in the pic above) digging for lugworms in the expanse of bright tinfoil left by the withdrawing spring tide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.