life of d

By davidd

Things you find...

Clearing out always reveals something unexpected and forgotten. I was clearing out part of the shed on Saturday when I came across the Educational Psychologists Report where I was diagnosed as suffering from a 'degree of dyslexia' and maybe being 'mildly apraxic'.

Unfortunately I was 15 years old and just about to sit my 'o' levels and so, although they gave me an extra few minutes to finish my exams (even longer to look out of the window wondering what on earth I was doing) they did not make up for 11 years of most teachers labelling me as a a bit rubbish.

So the message of the day... Don't judge a child by their appalling spelling, handwriting, or inability to understand what you are trying to teach them... They just might not get it..

I was lucky I had a few excellent teachers who really helped me and of course my parents always knew I was not as stupid as my handwriting and worked really hard to work out what was going on.

By the time I knew what the problem was I was playing guitar in a band with great friends. Education seemed like an annoying diversion and as it happens, in spite of my appalling exam results I've worked hard and been rather lucky ;)

Blimey that was a bit deep (I'm resisting making a dyslexia joke here!) it was only supposed to be a bilp of a latter

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.