tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Clam diggin'

At long last I've found the razor clams! I'm always seeing empty shells but it's only been now at this rare, lowest-of-the-low tides opportunity, that I have discovered where to locate them, right down at the edge of the water as it withdraws from the shore to expose the sandy seabed for a brief window of time.

The technique is simple and here is all the equipment you need: salt to sprinkle into the little holes where the clams reveal their presence by squirting up a siphon of water, trowel (barely necessary since the salt brings them up above the surface where you can grab them), gloves - a good idea since the shells really are like razors and can slice into your fingers, and a bag, or rucksack in my case, to carry the haul home. Hat and scarf are useful too. The dog is optional.

The dozen I found yesterday were delicious lightly steamed, opened, cleaned and then briefly baked with chopped wild garlic, olive oil, salt and pepper and fresh bread crumbs.
Today I got 50 on two beaches. Seems greedy but I intend to cook them and freeze them so that the rest of the family can enjoy them at Easter when there should be 5 or 6 of us at home. Razor clams are a rare luxury that aren't always available.
One of the best things in the wild larder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.