memento

By memento

First ones to the swamp

That intrepid one, she could teach scared-little-me a thing or two.

Halle-flippin-luja. I'll mark today as the day when the edge of the dinosaur swamp is thawed about two feet in, rejoicing that Spring can't be far away now. I used to walk our doggie around this wetland frequently during all seasons, carefully observing the small changes that signaled the bigger ones. As soon as the ice melts a bit further out, the migrating ducks will appear in great hordes, followed by the regulars and the occasional egret. In summer it's a bit boggy for my taste but still cool, teeming with wildlife and bugs.

A guy with a dog wanted to know why I was crouching near the edge so I told him about blipfoto and the traveling duckies. Neither of us had anything to write with but he said he'd remember it. Right. I think I'll pop a little post-it pad in my camera bag.

Tonight, a thunderstorm, Wednesday two inches of snow. Joy. Two steps forward, ten steps back. That's March in the upper Midwest for ya. You betcha. Actually, we don't talk like that here-for those who have seen the movie Fargo.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bucky has traveled all over the world, one journal at a time. If you'd like to see where it started , how and when he met his soulmate and all the places that he's been, use the buckyblip tag to search.

Should you like him to visit your corner of the world, drop him a email to buckytheducky[at]googlemail[dot]com. Include your postal address and blip journal name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.