an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

Braintree Train

Okay, I realize this isn't a train*, but that doesn't mean I didn't totally intend to blip the Braintree train today. But I actually ended up with pictures of the green line (Braintree is the red line) and as much as I wanted to blip Boston's amazingly old and cool train cars, this shot was just more my style. Though I do think it's interesting that the two shots I was between today were both vibrantly green.

I wanted to adventure today, but nature had other plans for the first day of spring. In celebration, it snowed all day in Boston. Luckily nothing was sticking (that really would have been terrible) but it was heavy, quick-falling stuff all day long. Put a damper on the plans.

So instead of heading out to somewhere for some great outdoor photos, I tuckered into a movie theatre to wait it out. By the time I left, it had stopped snowing, though it was still misty and freezing. I decided to walk back home rather than take the train, and crossing the Charles River I got this photo.

The funny thing about Boston is how old everything seems to be, and how it still seems to be standing when it looks like it might fall apart. This railing is one of those things.

Today, I had a several part realization:

1. I could stay here and still be happy, though I would always hate the winters.
2. I could move back to Austin and be happy.
3. I am happy right now.
4. I am not worried about whatever is going to happen in the next couple months. Come what may.

*The train I take into the city is the Braintree train (Braintree is the end of the line) and our conductor today didn't want us to forget it. She had a special way of saying "Braintree Train" about 5 times every time we stopped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.