While on my runs

By waipushrink

The old Post Office

This morning I was struck by inertia, and more importantly dislike of the probability of being rained on if I went for a run at my usual time. Sneaked an extra hour in bed with the promise of an evening run. Almost missed out due to a longer than expected appointment, and a wish to see poor Mr H who had dental treatment the day after turning 7.

Obsessionality won and I did get out, in daylight thanks to continued daylight saving. Cruised through the Three Lamps area of Ponsonby, and went past the old Ponsonby Post office. It was built in 1912, and as was common in those days with public buildings it has a rather ornate exterior. Sitting where it does, right at the end of Ponsonby Road it is high on the Ponsonby ridge, and visible from well away.

It stopped being able to satisfy the requirements of 21st century mail processes, and was sold to become (in 2005) a "Belgian Beer Cafe". They serve a range of imported Belgian beers, and "traditional" Belgian food. The owners describe it as being 1930s era French cosmopolitan style. Not sure I agree, especially as much of the old interior fittings and some of the old furniture has been retained and used for a new purpose. More can be seen here .

I used a very wide angle to include the sky tower, resulting in at least the sky tower having a most untower like lean. So I cropped it out, and the resulting picture is not too far off vertical. I also adjusted the sharpness and brightness a little to allow the brass name plate to be read; reflected sunglare had obscured it.

For many years this was our local post office, and I have also enjoyed the odd meal and beer in it since its new life began six years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.