Morning colour

Mosquitoes fluster me. When I had to switch the fan off while taking a call last night, they had their fill. A few claps and a few deaths followed. I kill. Again they woke me up before daybreak (the mystics might like to think of it as a sign). Fattened by blood, their dismal attempts at flying made them easy prey but by then they might already have contributed towards the propagation of their species.

The morning they woke me up to was absolutely beautiful. The windswept clouds from the evening before were disappearing and as the horizon was set aglow, the west was as blue as Delhi skies can be. But even then, as I pointed the camera at the sun, I got shadows everywhere else. Photographers in the northern hemisphere can get away with produce beautiful images shooting into the sun even during midday. Here, we would need a graduated ND filter and the like.

But the rays that made it in were like liquid. They floated around in what became a feast of colour. At the show's close, I returned to my nap only to find midday disappointing when I woke up. Morning seemed to have belonged to a different day. A complete stranger, perhaps even a figment of my drowsy imagination.

Added a few Hill People to the folio. I hope I have some good images in colour for the next section.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.