At last

After getting back from Peebles I returned the hire car and spent the rest of the day mostly trying to remember where I was. I had to pop up to the foot of Leith Walk for a few messages (trying as always, to avoid the sharks!) and as I was going up the Kirkgate I heard a little bird's voice that made me look up. And there, in a tree in the corner of the kirkyard, were half-a-dozen waxwings, enjoying the sunshine and chattering very quietly to each other. The sun was so bright that I couldn't see the camera display, so only half of the photos even had any waxwings in them. This was the best of a very poor bunch, but they are delightful birds and these were the first that I'd seen all winter. To see how pretty they are, have a look at anth's shot.

Have finally caught up with backblipping the last few days; it was a bit odd to have my 500th in the midst of all that. Thanks to all for the kind comments and good wishes, all much appreciated. I hope I'll get the chance to catch up with some of your journals over the next few days; I've really missed seeing what you've all been up to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.